SilencerTalk

Sound Suppressor Discussion
It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Water vs. wire pulling gel
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:02 pm 
Senior Silent Operator

I know this is old news for everyone else here, but I'm a novice so it's all still brand new to me...

I took my brand new Yankee Hill cobra 2 in 9mm (my first can) out into the woods and fired off a few subsonic rounds. Yes, the silencer worked, but it sounded more like a book being slammed shut loudly, rather than the whisper quiet effects that other people attributed to theirs. I didn't need hearing protection but the shot still could be heard, was still very noticiibly a gunshot, and it still had a noticible echo. I admit I was a little disappointed...

...UNTIL, following the advice of others, I poured a little bit of water into the silencer. HOLY MOTHER OF RONALD MCDONALD what a difference! My 9mm sounded no louder than a pellet gun with a very subdued SNAP. I could fire this in one room and it wouldn't be heard in the next room. My opinions of Yankee Hill has now turned 180 and instead of simply having an interesting toy I've now officially caught "the bug". Now then...

It's clear that Yankee Hill...if not most silencers...require a little more boost to get optimum performance out of them. Water obviously works nicely, but it's impractical since I can't keep dunking the silencer in a glass of water every few shots. Has anyone actually used wire pulling gel, and if so, does it give equivalent results in sound muffling? Is there somethign better out there than either water or wire pulling gel, 'cause although water is tedious, at least it evaporates into nothing, while I'd imagine the cleanup of gel residue would be ghastly.

You fine folks know more about this than I do so you're the people I need to ask to help me squeeze all the fun surprises out of my can. Thanks.

Post subject: Re: Water vs. wire pulling gel